Las Vegas Sun

October 21, 2014

Currently: 71° — Complete forecast | Log in

David McGrath Schwartz

Blog Post Archive

Budget cut deal near
Thursday, June 26, 2008

Republicans and Democrats are close to a deal to balance the budget, said Senate Majority Leader Bill Raggio, R-Reno after briefing Gov. Jim Gibbons and his staff.

National Guard: Fossett search prolonged by Gibbons (UPDATED)
Wednesday, June 25, 2008
Economic Forum sides with bleaker view of the state budget mess (UPDATED)
Friday, June 20, 2008
Down to one candidate, Berkley endorses Obama
Friday, June 20, 2008

In the latest sign that Hillary Clinton supporters are getting over their candidate's loss and moving on, Rep. Shelley Berkley announced her support for Barack Obama today after the two spoke about a number of issues, including Yucca Mountain, Social Security and Medicare, the economy, health care reform and the Middle East.

Gibbons to sign order for special session
Tuesday, June 17, 2008
Budget crisis figures get worse
Monday, June 16, 2008
Arberry upset by governor's call for special legislative session (UPDATED)
Friday, June 13, 2008

CARSON CITY -- Gov. Jim Gibbons has called a special June 23 session of the Legislature to deal with the budget crisis.

Legislature finally approves Gibbons' budget cuts (UPDATED)
Friday, May 23, 2008
Initiative petition signatures submitted (UPDATED)
Monday, May 19, 2008
Supporters of two Las Vegas Sands-backed initiatives today submitted tens of thousands of signatures to the Clark County registrar of voters.
If Woodbury can't run, others stand ready
Friday, May 16, 2008
Woodbury re-election bid faces legal challenge (UPDATED)
Friday, May 16, 2008

Nevada's 2008 ballot is in chaos.

On the final day candidates may file to run for office, Clark County Commissioner Bruce Woodbury's bid for a final term is likely to be challenged by the state's top election official, sources say.

State now facing still more cuts
Saturday, May 10, 2008
Titus' congressional run alters others' political plans
Thursday, May 1, 2008

State Sen. Dina Titus' entrance today into the congressional race against Rep. Jon Porter could trigger a number of changes in state legislative contests.

Titus said ready to take on Porter
Wednesday, April 30, 2008

State Sen. Dina Titus is expected to announce Thursday that she will enter the 3rd Congressional District race.

Attorney General won't say whether governor not living in Governor's Mansion violates law
Wednesday, April 30, 2008

The fact that marital problems are keeping Gov. Jim Gibbons from living
in the Governor's Mansion in Carson City has caused some consternation.

Republicans "worried about ... Titus"
Wednesday, April 30, 2008
Republicans must be worried about the 3rd Congressional District race.
Others interested in Porter race if Titus doesn't run
Tuesday, April 29, 2008
State Sen. Dina Titus is playing it coy right now as to whether she will step in to run against Rep. Jon Porter in the 3rd Congressional District race.
Sales tax revenue dips, but no budget cuts needed -- for now
Friday, April 25, 2008
There's more grim economic news for Nevada's budget, though additional cuts won't be necessary right now.
Gibbons prefers Carson City to D.C.
Monday, April 21, 2008
Nevada Gov. Jim Gibbons has no plans to move to Washington, even if presumptive Republican presidential candidate Sen. John McCain wants him on the ticket.
Gerhardt won't seek re-election
Friday, April 18, 2008

Democrats' hopes of getting a veto-proof majority in the state Assembly just got a little tougher.

Democrats' do-over convention smoother, but changes little (UPDATED)
Saturday, April 12, 2008
Although less chaotic than January's caucus and February's first try at a Clark County convention, Saturday's Democratic Party do-over ended up not changing much in the battle between U.S. Sens. Barack Obama and Hillary Clinton
Fed health inspectors being dispatched to help here
Friday, March 7, 2008

The federal government is sending inspectors to Nevada, and the state is hoping neighboring states also send inspectors to deal with sinking faith in the state's medical system.

Super delegates
Tuesday, Feb. 5, 2008
But where do you sit when you drink?
Thursday, Jan. 31, 2008
Hizzoner to greet President Bush
Wednesday, Jan. 30, 2008
State, County Dems: OK, we’ll get along now
Thursday, Jan. 17, 2008
Judge: At-large precincts are OK
Thursday, Jan. 17, 2008
Bill and the counting game
Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2008
Obama Aide: Clinton Is 'Prohibitive Favorite' in Nevada
Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2008
Hispanic state legislator goes Obama
Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2008
Federal court hearing Thursday on Strip caucus sites
Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2008
A lawsuit waiting to be heard
Monday, Jan. 14, 2008
Dems: Please caucus, even if it's the Republican caucus
Wednesday, Jan. 9, 2008
Berkley endorses Clinton
Wednesday, Jan. 9, 2008
Why Wyoming?
Sunday, Jan. 6, 2008
Romney wins! OK, it's Wyoming. But there are interesting parallels to Nevada's Republican caucus on Jan. 19. Wyoming moved up its caucus to get more attention. It was largely ignored by all the candidates, save Mitt Romney and his sons who campaigned there. And there was scant media attention paid to the run-up.

Most Popular

  • Viewed
  • Discussed
  • E-mailed