Las Vegas Sun

October 1, 2014

Currently: 73° — Complete forecast | Log in

Brian Eckhouse

Blog Post Archive

Obama calls audible, backs college football playoff
Monday, Nov. 3, 2008
Nevada political roundup: Reid preps for prime-time
Friday, Aug. 15, 2008
Nevada political roundup: Clinton, McCain visits put Vegas in spotlight
Friday, Aug. 8, 2008
The national political spotlight returns to Las Vegas today and should remain here through tomorrow night, with New York Sen. Hillary Clinton and Sen. John McCain, the presumptive Republican presidential nominee, campaigning here.
Nevada political roundup: Dems upgrade Derby-Heller race (UPDATED)
Friday, Aug. 1, 2008
We lead today's Early Line with big news for Democrat Jill Derby and her campaign to unseat incumbent Rep. Dean Heller in Nevada's 2nd Congressional District. The Democratic National Campaign Committee has upgraded Derby's race to its top-tier list of targets, meaning she'll receive financial and field help from the national party.
Nevada political roundup: McCain visit rehash, veep whispers
Wednesday, July 30, 2008
Locals are still discussing John McCain’s town hall meeting in Sparks yesterday, a forum where the presumptive Republican presidential nominee is often at his best.
UPDATE: Nevada political update: Court rules on term limits
Friday, July 25, 2008
We were collecting our daily roundup of political stories when Sun columnist Jon Ralston's flash delivered the biggest nugget of the day thus far: The State Supreme Court unanimously has ruled that term limits are constitutional, meaning longtime County Commissioner Bruce Woodbury and 20 other incumbents statewide cannot run for re-election.
UPDATED: Nevada political roundup: Berkley circulates article
Wednesday, July 23, 2008
UPDATE: Nevada daily political update: Gibbons, budget cuts
Wednesday, July 16, 2008
Jim Gibbons headlines the state’s political page today – and in some cases, the front page – and, again, the news isn’t favorable to our unpopular governor.
Nevada daily political update: Sheldon Adelson and the GOP
Tuesday, July 15, 2008
The national spotlight thrust again and again on casino mogul Sheldon Adelson this year may be a sign of just how damaged the Republican brand is. Adelson, who Sun columnist Jon Ralston playfully refers to as "Gondolier Numero Uno," is getting more attention nationally than some of America's most well-known Republican candidates.
Stalking the elusive iPhone
Friday, July 11, 2008
I thought I’d be sneaky, opting for an AT&T Store this morning to buy the new iPhone over one of the Apple stores on Las Vegas Boulevard. Surely, there’d be fewer people camping out at an AT&T store.
Rory Reid & Co. formally throw their support to Obama
Monday, June 23, 2008
Smell theory all wet
Thursday, March 20, 2008

So the Las Vegas Valley populace apparently includes not only plenty of amateur psychologists (see: hepatitis crisis, Endoscopy Center of Southern Nevada) but also experts in identifying malodorous smells they've never actually encountered.

New record for Las Vegas traffic fines
Friday, March 7, 2008
Despite the fact that February is the shortest month, Las Vegas Justice Court last month raked in more money in traffic fines paid online or by phone than in any previous month.
Protest planned for Thursday evening on the Strip
Tuesday, Feb. 12, 2008
NFL Network mouthpiece moving to Harrah's p.r. post
Wednesday, Jan. 30, 2008
NFL commissioner called paralyzed bouncer after strip-club shooting
Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2008
Woman in strip club melee sentenced to probation
Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2008
Flagpole must come down
Friday, Jan. 25, 2008
Murder-for-hire plot revealed
Wednesday, Jan. 23, 2008
Nevada bounce for Romney?
Monday, Jan. 21, 2008
Coachella set to announce lineup
Monday, Jan. 21, 2008
Hunter drops out
Saturday, Jan. 19, 2008
How important was the Republican caucus?
Saturday, Jan. 19, 2008
Culinary can’t face the news
Saturday, Jan. 19, 2008
Romney declared winner
Saturday, Jan. 19, 2008
Democrats sit and watch
Saturday, Jan. 19, 2008
Calling the winner before they count the votes
Saturday, Jan. 19, 2008
Confusion at Republican caucus in Green Valley
Saturday, Jan. 19, 2008
Illegal immigration foes targeting Clinton
Saturday, Jan. 19, 2008
Seinfeld comes to Eli's rescue
Friday, Jan. 18, 2008
Elko the center of politics
Friday, Jan. 18, 2008
The lurking Ron Paul
Friday, Jan. 18, 2008
Romney's schedule for today
Thursday, Jan. 17, 2008

Man sentenced in tax fraud case
Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2008
Romney arrives Thursday
Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2008
Judge doubles O.J. Simpson's bail
Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2008
Kucinich will sit it out
Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2008
Kucinich, MSNBC await the ruling
Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2008
NBC appeals Kucinich ruling
Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2008
What's at stake with the at-large caucus precincts
Friday, Jan. 11, 2008
O.J. Simpson back in custody
Friday, Jan. 11, 2008
Pollsters try to explain what went wrong in N.H.
Friday, Jan. 11, 2008
Poll-less in Nevada
Friday, Jan. 11, 2008
Man pleads guilty to credit card fraud
Thursday, Jan. 10, 2008
Judge rules NFL team not liable in Minxx shooting case
Wednesday, Jan. 9, 2008

Most Popular

  • Viewed
  • Discussed
  • E-mailed