Friday, July 19, 2013 | 3:12 p.m.
Owners of off-road vehicles are flooding the state Department of Motor Vehicles to register their vehicle, as required by July 1.
Kevin Malone, spokesman for the department, said Friday there has been an increase in requests for registration. But it’s still far below the 260,000 off-road vehicles that the Off Highway Commission estimates there are in Nevada.
The three-member staff at the main DMV office in Carson City dedicated to off-road vehicle registration is working full time, Malone said. And an employee who previously dedicated only 25 percent of the workweek to off-road vehicle registrations has been assigned to work full time processing the applications, bringing the staff to four.
Still, the turnaround time has increased from 18 days last week to 20 days this week.
As of June 15, there were 12,335 active registrations. As of July 8, there were 14,720 registered, according to Malone.
The 2011 Legislature set the deadline of July 1, 2013, for registering off-road vehicles. The fine for failing to register is $100, according to the Off Highway Commission.
The annual registration fee is $20, and the title for Nevada vehicles is $28.25.
This money is will go toward trail improvements and other enhancements for off-road riders.