Las Vegas Sun

March 5, 2015

Currently: 60° — Complete forecast | Log in | Create an account

Phil Ivey captures eighth World Series of Poker title

Ivey beats the deepest final table of the summer in a HORSE tournament


Leila Navidi

Phil Ivey plays during the World Series of Poker H.O.R.S.E. event at the Rio Monday, June 21, 2010. The WSOP runs through July 17, 2010.

The faces of World Series of Poker

Chad Brown plays during the World Series of Poker H.O.R.S.E. event at the Rio Monday, June 21, 2010. The WSOP runs through July 17, 2010. Launch slideshow »

Final Table and Payouts

  • 1. Phil Ivey- $329,840
  • 2. Bill Chen- $203,802
  • 3. John Juanada- $129,553
  • 4. Ken Aldridge- $93,418
  • 5. Jeffrey Lisandro- $68,417
  • 6. David Baker- $50,871
  • 7. Albert Hahn- $38,391
  • 8. Chad Brown- $29,406
  • 9. Ryan Hughes- $22,849

Phil Ivey is back on top of the poker world.

Seven months after finishing seventh in the 2009 World Series of Poker Main Event, Ivey won his eighth World Series of Poker championship early Tuesday morning at the Rio.

Ivey won a $3,000 HORSE — a five-game mix of hold'em, Omaha, razz, stud and stud high-low split eight or better — tournament to further establish his reputation as the world's best poker player.

At only 34 years old, Ivey has the fifth-most World Series of Poker bracelets. Ivey won $329,840 for his latest triumph, and made much more than that in bracelet side bets with fellow poker pros.

The three-day tournament's final round started at 3 p.m. Monday with 25 players remaining from the 478 original entries.

It didn't finish until nearly 5 a.m. Tuesday when Ivey overcame a 4-to-1 chip disadvantage to beat Bill Chen in heads-up play during a razz round.

At the beginning of their heads-up match, Chen could not be stopped. Chen, who won two World Series of Poker bracelets in 2006, had dominated the summer's toughest final table.

Between the nine players at the HORSE final table, there were a combined 18 World Series bracelets. Renowned pro John Juanada finished in third for $129,553.

Jeffrey Lisandro, last year's World Series Player of the Year, came in fifth for $68,417. Another well-known pro, Chad Brown, finished in eighth for $29,406.

Join the Discussion:

Check this out for a full explanation of our conversion to the LiveFyre commenting system and instructions on how to sign up for an account.

Full comments policy

Previous Discussion: comments so far…

Comments are moderated by Las Vegas Sun editors. Our goal is not to limit the discussion, but rather to elevate it. Comments should be relevant and contain no abusive language. Comments that are off-topic, vulgar, profane or include personal attacks will be removed. Full comments policy. Additionally, we now display comments from trusted commenters by default. Those wishing to become a trusted commenter need to verify their identity or sign in with Facebook Connect to tie their Facebook account to their Las Vegas Sun account. For more on this change, read our story about how it works and why we did it.

Only trusted comments are displayed on this page. Untrusted comments have expired from this story.

No trusted comments have been posted.