Competing poker sites in legal battle over domain name
Monday, April 12, 2010 | 8:40 a.m.
Related Document (.pdf)
A legal dispute has emerged involving competing online poker sites oriented toward Apple Mac computer users.
Best Odds Corp. of Las Vegas, owner of the macpokeronline.com Web site, filed suit in federal court in Las Vegas on Friday against an individual in Costa Rica, Michael Jackness, whom Best Odds says runs the competing Web sites macpoker.com and macpoker.net.
"Since January of 2009, Jackness has been infringing on Best’s service mark MAC POKER, causing deception and confusion to Best’s customers by misdirecting Best’s customers to Jackness’s competing Web sites," the lawsuit charges. "Jackness intentionally misappropriated Best’s mark despite Jackness’s direct knowledge that Best has owned the Mark since approximately June 3, 2005."
The owner of macpokeronline says in the suit that in 2009 it filed an application to register MAC POKER with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office and that it's in the process of completing the registration process.
The macpokeronline site says it "provides news and information via a global computer network in the field of gaming, namely, online gaming websites, gaming strategy, gaming software, gaming rules, online gaming affiliate programs, gaming television show schedules and gaming tournament schedules."
Jackness is accused of using a confusingly similar name for his Web sites, resulting in a "reproduction, counterfeit, copy or colorable imitation of Best's mark and Best's services."
The lawsuit also asserts claims of misappropriation of Best's property and of unfair competition.
A request for comment on the allegations was placed with Jackness on Monday.
Discussion: comments so far…
Comments are moderated by Las Vegas Sun editors. Our goal is not to limit the discussion, but rather to elevate it. Comments should be relevant and contain no abusive language. Comments that are off-topic, vulgar, profane or include personal attacks will be removed. Full comments policy. Additionally, we now display comments from trusted commenters by default. Those wishing to become a trusted commenter need to verify their identity or sign in with Facebook Connect to tie their Facebook account to their Las Vegas Sun account. For more on this change, read our story about how it works and why we did it.
Only trusted comments are displayed on this page. Untrusted comments have expired from this story.
No trusted comments have been posted.
Post a comment
Most Popular
- Viewed
- Discussed
- E-mailed
- Three dreams come true for Flamingo headliner Marie Osmond
- MGM results improve on Las Vegas Strip spending, China growth
- Federal agents join probe into fire at site of future Islamic funeral home
- Strip Scribbles: Shania Twain in town planning Caesars Palace residency
- Judge tosses out suit challenging motorcycle helmet law enforcement
- 15-month-old toddler tests positive for hallucinogenic drug
- Construction project — possibly for a mosque — damaged by fire
- Henderson man pleads guilty to kidnapping 7-year-old girl
- Mother left 3-year-old twins, 5-year-old alone prior to fire, Metro Police charge
- Highs to hit low 70s in Las Vegas
Blogs
The Kats Report
Post it: House of Blues tuning up for a Santana residency
In pursuing a tribute to Frank Sinatra, Robert Davi is no bad actor
High School Sports Scene
High School Basketball State Championship Picks
The Kats Report
Oscar Goodman goes Shecky as Mob Museum opening prompts a mob scene (2 Comments)
Elsewhere
MGM Resorts, Ameristar form marketing alliance to draw visitors
High School Sports Scene
High School Hoops Picks: Updated with Friday's regional finals (3 Comments)
The Kats Report
What a Whitney Houston residency in Las Vegas might have looked like (5 Comments)
The Sun
Locally owned and independent for more than 50 years.


Comment removed by moderator. Off-topic.
With an actual trademark and not just an application they may have grounds for a UDRP filing but an actual lawsuit is pushing it. Besides that, I wonder how Apple feels about both sites using their Mac trademark for a gambling site? Not very good I am sure and they definitely have a trademark. This is a typical over reaction and will be tossed out of court.
Also, it's very unlikely a trademark will be granted for their 'Pac Poker' mark due to it already infringes on the Apple's 'Mac' mark. Best Odds Corp really needs to get a clue.
typo - should be 'Mac Poker' not 'Pac Poker'.
As an attorney that practices in this area of the law I have a few thoughts and comments on this matter which I've posted a blog about at: http://kostiw.blogspot.com/2010/04/mac-p...
Thanks for listening,
-Vincent
Slow news day?